Changes Coming to ARES in 2019

This year, all ARES organizations were required to register their individual organizations with  the ARRL through ARES Connect. ARES Connect is the new ARRL volunteer management, communication, and reporting system. Once this was done, the registered ARES organization received a unique ID number. This unique ID number will then be used to log into ARES Connect to update each ARES member levels of training and qualifications. The ARRL will then use this information to provide the appropriate credentials.
The ARRL will have three levels of credentialed ARES volunteers; Level One, Level
Two, and Level Three. ARES Level One individuals are those that have just registered on-line with their respective ARES organization. They may not have completed any training yet. However, the expectation is that the Level One individual will work toward meeting the Level Two training requirements.
Level Two individuals would be considered the normal ARES member level. These individuals will have met the minimum training requirements and may be permitted access, as granted by the “Authority Having Jurisdiction” (AHJ), to incident sites and emergency operations centers (EOCs). Level Three individuals would be those that have met additional, advanced training requirements to qualify for ARES leadership positions and may have additional access to sites and facilities as granted by the AHJ.
The required training for each level is as
Level One
  • Register on-line through the ARES Connect web site.
  • An expectation that Level Two training requirements would be met within one year.
Level Two
  • ARRL EC-001 “Introduction to Emergency Communication”
  • NWS Basic SKYWARN®
  • FEMA IS-100.C “Introduction to the Incident Command System, ICS 100”
  • FEMA IS-200.B “ICS for Single Resources and Initial Action Incidents”
  • FEMA IS-700.A “National Incident Management System (NIMS), an Introduction”
  • FEMA IS-800.C “National Response Framework, an Introduction”
Level Three
  • ARRL EC-016 “Public Service and Emergency Communications Management for Radio Amateurs”
  • FEMA ICS-300 “Intermediate ICS for Expanding Incidents”
  • FEMA ICS-400 “Advanced ICS Command and General Staff -Complex Incidents”


All of the above training courses, except SKYWARN, ICS-300 and ICS-400 can be taken on-line. The SKYWARN, ICS-300 and ICS-400 courses are only delivered as live, real time, classroom courses. All of the above courses are free, except for the ARRL EC courses. Local ARES served agencies and AHJs though may require additional training above these requirements.
The ARRL will issue a nationally recognized ID denoting confirmation of ARES registration and level of training. However, these ARRL issued IDs WILL NOT guarantee any site or facility  access. Only the AHJ has that authority and may issue additional IDs or passes to permit
access to facilities and incident sites under their jurisdiction.
It’s important to note that other than registering on-line beginning January 2019, current ARES members are not required to do anything more. Those that don’t do anything more than registering on-line will stay credentialed at Level One. Additional details of these changes will be provided in the September 2018 issue of QST.

Leave a Reply